A Love Story: part one…

A true love story written by a dear sister and friend as told to the ladies inside.

Good Morning My Sisters,

It is always such a JOY to spend time with you.  Today I have more testimony for you.  May I share a beautiful Love story with you?  My love story?  So let’s back up a bit for those of you I haven’t had the joy of meeting.  I did my 3‐ish years inside at Colorado Women’s.  I was released to a halfway house.  After a couple of weeks, I was sent out to find work – on foot each day all over town.  One day I was in a particular part of town where there are many small businesses.  I decided to stop by a non‐profit a friend of mine worked for.   She, too, was a felon and worked there and loved her job.  I dropped off my resume and noticed next door was a Prison Ministry I was familiar with.  So, of course, I stopped into say “Hi”.  It was such a great visit.  I told them I was looking for work and stopped in when I saw their sign.  They invited me to share birthday cake with them as one of the ladies who worked there was celebrating her birthday.  The Pastor/Founder of the ministry joined us and asked me about my job skills.  I have quite a varied background of skills.  When done, he told me of their current data base administrator giving her notice that morning – THAT morning.  She was pregnant and had a toddler.  She and her husband decided for her to be a stay‐at‐home mom.  I was offered the job on the spot.  Our God is amazing!  Of course, I took the job.  We had to jump through some special hoops with the CDOC to allow me to work there, but all went well and I began my employment with them.   My office area was near the back of the building so I was unable to hear people come in the front door.  One day, I heard this booming, joyous laughter.  It certainly caught my attention.  Again, I heard it so I stuck my head around the corner and asked my office mate who it was.  She responded that a friend of the pastor’s was visiting from California and was going to spend a few days in town working on a joint ministry project.   About a half hour later, this tall, buff (big shoulders), brown eyed, gentle giant came into my area.  He introduced himself as “David” and asked me my story.  He’d already been told it up front, but asked me to share.  I gave him the abbreviated version.  He asked if he might pray with me.  Of course – I never refuse prayer.  He prayed the first of many beautiful, articulate, blessings over me.  I was a bit overwhelmed at what he prayed.  It was like he knew my struggles and me.  When he left, I offered to shake his hand and thanked him. He boldly told me he didn’t shake hands and gave me the warmest bear hug I have ever received.   He came by once more during the week.  We prayed.  I got hugged – he made quite the impression. Over the next couple of years, we spoke often on the phone.  We always prayed.  He always showed a genuine interest as I was released, did ISP, then parole and was finally on my own.   About that time, he decided to move to Colorado and work part time at the ministry.  He quickly became a close friend.  I booked him and others into prisons to minister to the men of CDOC.  He had a regular Bible study at the local jail.  He always shared what he was teaching and how it had gone.  We often prayed for the inmates he visited.  We were a team to visit churches to promote and share the ministry.  This was the best as he was bold in his worship and outspoken and confident in his beliefs.  It was fun to overwhelm the most conservative churches that didn’t know what to think of this gregarious man who loved Jesus more than life.  His name, David – a man after God’s own heart – suited him perfectly. At one point, David made contact with his former high school sweetheart who lived out of state.   Her husband had died a few years earlier.  They reconnected and their relationship seemed to blossom over the phone and Internet.  They decided it was time for him to visit her over the holidays and take their relationship another step.  We, the office, staff was thrilled at this new found happiness for him.  About a week after he left, he called me to say he was on his way home.   He said she wasn’t who she used to be and he wasn’t who he used to be and they weren’t going to work out for a number of reasons.  He was heart broken.  He was to get home the next afternoon.  I told him (didn’t ask) he was going to my church’s night at the zoo with me that next night.  He needed a little pick‐me‐up.  We went and sang Christmas carols around a fire pit, made s’mores and got accosted by the little kiddos from my Sunday school class.  At one point, we found ourselves on the carousel acting and laughing like children.   When the ride was done, he helped me down by taking my hand.  When I was safely on the ground, he didn’t let go of my hand.   Hmmm We held hands for the remainder of the night.  We spoke of our friendship and how much we cared for each other.  I had no interest in dating as I still considered my life to be a bit of a mess  – felon, and all.  He told me that our pastor had told him I was “off limits” that first day we’d met.   We set those things aside and confessed our true feelings for each other.  From that moment, he began to “court” me – genuinely, biblically, court me.  I have never had a man so honor me and treat me with such beautiful respect.    One of many sweet things he did was buy me roses.  He always found a particular kind – creamy white pedals on the outside, with a deep pinkish red on the inside so the red would curl outward as the buds opened up.  Beautiful.  I never could find them when I looked but they were the only ones he would buy for me.

white rose red tip

About three months into our new relationship, he invited me to a fancy big dinner and told me to  “dress up” -something I didn’t often do.  I dressed up.  We went to the restaurant and ate an exquisite meal.  I was stuffed.  He asked me what I would like for dessert.  Not a thing – I was stuffed.  No, he said.  The desserts here are amazing.  No, I really can’t eat another bite.  He was quite insistent.  I finally agreed to share one dessert.  I then learned that ‘dessert’ was the que for the wait staff and restaurant manager to bring out this enormous bouquet of flowers – including my special roses.  David dropped to one knee and asked for my hand in marriage.  I later found out he had called my dad (out of state) to ask his permission.  Yes, oh Yes!  How I loved this Godly man. We chose a date a few months away.  Our pastor at work would do the honors.  My best friend agreed to stand with me.  I had chosen my dress – purple.  We had chosen a beautiful outdoor location.  All things were falling perfectly into place.

…To be continued…

Leave a Reply

