1 Samuel in my own words;

TRUSTING IN TRUE FRIENDSHIPS! David was able to secure a true friend who protected him, warned him, one who even stood up for him in the face of death. David had a friend who said, “What is it you want me to do for you? Anything, I will do!” David had a friend who listened to him, heard him, and answered his call. Who is this like? He calls me friend in John 15:15 says in Proverbs 18:24 One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother. He tells me in Matthew 7:8, “For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.” Who can fully understand the love of Jesus, who gave Himself as a sacrifice for rebellious, polluted sinners! How great then ought to be my force and effects of my love to Him, to His cause, and His people! JESUS is my true friend.

PARALLELED LIVES: I am amazed how in HIS word our very own modern day lives parallel with Old Testament kings and warriors. I remain astonished at how faithful He remains so steadfast through every trial, battle, and temptation I encounter. HIS love for me is unfailing.

MERCY AND GRACE TRUMPS the LETTER OF THE LAW; I love the truth of God’s word. MERCY and GRACE trumps the letter of the law every time. Loving God and loving thy neighbor override the letter. In 1 Samuel 21 when David’s men needed bread, when Jesus ate on the Sabbath, when Jesus didn’t wash his hands, when Jesus healed on the Sabbath, and again in my life…daily! His mercy and grace overrule the law always.

STEAK DINNERS!
Sitting in His presence learning from the truth of His word is like digging into a big juicy steak as each bite drizzles juice down my chin. How mightily my GOD pursues me, knows me, trains me, changes me, gives me hope, mercy, and grace even when I am so underserving. Even when I seek refuge in my enemy’s camp, when I flee in fear, when I act like madman, when I don’t look up or keep looking back. YOU LORD take me, you rescue me, you bring me back home every time. YOU ARE LORD OF ALL!!

We are MORE than conquerors! Conquerors just win battles but I am MORE THAN… I get to continue living after the victories! His word says in Romans 8:31
 What, then, shall I, me, say in response to these things? If God is for me , who can be against me?

Romans 8:37
 No, in all these things I am more than a conqueror through Him who loves me.

Leave a Reply

