Trees of STRENGTH

The myth is that storms (always) have to do with punishment.

That they are Gods response to sin or His disappointment in us as His children.

May I suggest that it is exactly the opposite.

It is the confirmation that we are flowers the father has planted and desires to grow.

And no matter how painful or inconvenient,

it is necessary for the flowers growth.

~Kirk Franklin~

In the bible, or even in our life, are many, many, testimonies to the beautiful struggle to necessary storms of life… read it, listen, learn, and don’t be afraid to grow.

Trees of Strength

Did you know the wind will make little trees stronger each time they blow?
I remember, once, when my brother had a tree he was growing in an indoor pot and he would daily go and bend the tree, push on it, and pull on it to strengthen the trees trunk and its endurance.
Today, I look outside as our small trees are being whipped around by the strong winds. As they are bending over and I am reminded of our life in CHRIST.
The winds, or storms, will come and each time we, his hand held children, are left stronger than before the winds started. Our dependence becomes more focused on HIM and less on our abilities. We are stripped of those dead branches that are no longer providing us with anything but extra weight and baggage.
As a child, after every wind storm, our family would end up outside picking up all the sticks and putting them into a pile. What do you think we did with this pile of branches? We burned them!!!! Hallelujah, in storms we get stripped of things GOD no longer wants us carrying around and we need to burn them.
In Autumn we notice the wind will blow leaves off trees and we are quickly reminded that the next season to follow is Winter. Winter is a time of rest after the leaves, that had once provided food or shade for the tree, have fallen and the trees are left barren in a state of rest, but before the leaves fall the tree has gathered all the nutrients it needs from the leave.

Our life is much like a tree. We have many seasons and changes and storms will come and provide us with a new strength or purge us from things we no longer need to be hanging onto.

Take joy in your wind storms and know that HE is providing you with a gift of endurance, perseverance, and a far greater understanding of who HE truly is through it all.

I have yet to meet a true christian, who pours pours forth a deep passion for Christ, who is fully living their life for HIM, that hasn’t been through some type of storm. It is the storms that will make us into the character that GOD wants us to be. Praise HIM in the storms and count it all joy. (James 1)

In HIS arms

Praise You in this Storm by Casting Crowns
http://www.youtube.com/watchv=VHlQ6sBEO9A&mode=related&search=
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ji2rLXr3cEU&mode=related&search=

I was sure by now

That You would have reached down

And wiped our tears away

Stepped in and saved the day

But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining

As the thunder rolls

I barely hear Your whisper through the rain

“I’m with you”

And as Your mercy falls

I raise my hands and praise the God who gives

And takes away

I’ll praise You in this storm

And I will lift my hands

For You are who You are

No matter where I am

Every tear I’ve cried

You hold in Your hand

You never left my side

And though my heart is torn

I will praise You in this storm

I remember when

I stumbled in the wind

You heard my cry

You raised me up again

My strength is almost gone

How can I carry on

If I can’t find You

As the thunder rolls

I barely hear You whisper through the rain”I’m with you”

And as Your mercy falls

I raise my hands and praise the God who gives

And takes awayI lift my eyes unto the hills

Where does my help come from?

My help comes from the Lord

The Maker of Heaven and Earth

Leave a Reply

