The Real Samaritan

This week I was taken to the Holy chapter in His word of Luke 10 several times while I was faced with various trials and decisions.

God continually, in HIS most gentle way, would bring some verse in Luke 10 to my attention, again, and again as the week went on.

Finally, after several situations, where I was taken to Luke 10, I went and sat down to just read then entire chapter of Luke 10 to see exactly what God was trying to show me.

I became awed and amazed that every single answer, and for every situation, I had been seeking help or answers for was all answered in this one chapter of Luke 10.

I will share the one story that I have read many times.  I am sure some of you have read or heard this story many times. Today, His truth stood out so clear to me in a new light. It was a mighty message that He wanted me to receive.

It is the story of the Samaritan in Luke 10: 29-37

29But he, desiring to justify himself, said to Jesus, “And who is my neighbor?” 30Jesus replied, “A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and he fell among robbers, who stripped him and beat him and departed, leaving him half dead. 31Now by chance a priest was going down that road, and when he saw him he passed by on the other side. 32So likewise a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side. 33But a Samaritan, as he journeyed, came to where he was, and when he saw him, he had compassion. 34He went to him and bound up his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. Then he set him on his own animal and brought him to an inn and took care of him. 35And the next day he took out two denarii and gave them to the innkeeper, saying, ‘Take care of him, and whatever more you spend, I will repay you when I come back.’ 36Which of these three, do you think, proved to be a neighbor to the man who fell among the robbers?” 37He said, “The one who showed him mercy.” And Jesus said to him, “You go, and do likewise.”

As I read through this scripture it became so clear to me that JESUS was the Samaritan. He had bandaged the damaged and beaten down man who lay forgotten and alone. He bandaged his wounds, poured oil (which is healing) and wine (which is ultimately His blood) upon this man. He put him upon His own donkey and paid for his way. JESUS did that for us didn’t He? For us He has paid freely for our healing.

As I was praying for answers this week I was truly crying out to the LORD to let us know if it was truly in His will for us to mentor women and care for them in an aftercare mentor ministry. This is where the verses of the innkeeper come in. Read these verses and see what the Samaritan (Jesus) tells the innkeeper to do? He tells him to, “TAKE CARE OF HIM!”

This spoke so loudly to me. This story showed me how Jesus has healed these wounded women of their pains and pasts. HE tells us to take care of them. Jesus is the one who showed mercy in the story to set an example for us and says to us to “go and do likewise.”

Oh, I just love the word of GOD and how truly living it is. Each time it is a new truth, as is His mercy, new every morning.

As I was rejoicing in this truth, a few days later (this morning), I received in the mail a letter from a ministry.  They are a ministry that ministers to and cares for women who are released from prison. Upon opening the envelope a card falls out and lands upon my counter. Look, just look, at what the card read loud and clear;

“Equipping the Church to love our Christian neighbors coming out of prison. Luke 10:27”

I was amazed as I saw the verse LUKE 10:27. Our God is good.  His truth does lead us. He directs our paths.

As we are seeking His will, praying, waiting on the LORD may we know His answers for us are there.  We find them in His word every day for in every situation.

May we continue to seek His will, may the LORD shine His light upon us, and give us the answers and truth we are so desperately seeking to find. As we hunger and thirst may we be filled.

Rejoicing in our Savior who has bandaged up our wounds, healed us with His blood, and set us free!

Leave a Reply

