Soli Deo Gloria!

This is the true story of how GOD, in his sovereignty, changed the life of one man. TO GOD BE THE GLORY!

“Even if I Never Walk Again, it is Worth it…”

When David arrived in the Life Learning Program at the Chatham County (Georgia) Detention Center, he was in a body cast. His lower body had been crushed by an automobile during a violent encounter, for which David was going to pay dearly. He was not expected to walk again. So, perhaps the safest place for David was under the care of the chaplains.

David did not know it at the time, but God had placed him in the program for a distinct purpose.

As weeks went by, David sat on the outskirts of the group during class time. The Bible was opened each day before a young man who gave no
indication of interest. However, our Good News chaplain observed, “David
began to circle the podium in his wheelchair after each Bible class. The
circle grew smaller day by day, until I asked him, ‘David do you want to talk
to me?’ David began to cry, ‘I just wanted you to know that I have trusted
Jesus. Last night I called my mom and told her that even if I go to prison for a long time and never walk again, it is worth it for the peace I now have.’ ”

Indeed, David was a changed man.

David’s fruit showed quickly as he devoured the Good News Bible studies
and began to order classic Christian works to study on his own. He became
a leader in the program and maintained a consistent Christ-like demeanor. After a year with the Good News chaplains, David was transferred to prison.

David recently wrote from prison, “I am indebted to Good News
Jail & Prison Ministry and to the godly men God used to change my life . . .
My life is now full of purpose, for I was chosen by Him to share with others the good news of salvation through Christ alone.” And as always, David closed his letter with “Soli Deo Gloria! Sola Gratia! Sola Scriptura!” (meaning that salvation is by grace alone, through the Word of God alone, and for God’s glory alone).

Leave a Reply

