April 2007-Clothed with Righteousness, no longer Much Afraid

Dearest Warriors out there,
May none of you be Much Afraid!
Have you ever read the book titled Hinds’ Feet on High Places? As I thought this morning about the main character MA (Much Afraid) I couldn’t help but think how I had been in Much Afraids shoes these past weeks … shame on me!
He is so ever faithful and continually lifts, and sometimes literally pulls, me out of that pit. HE is MY LORD!!
Psalm 40:2He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog,and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.
This morning while reading just a few short verses, that is all it took for HIS SPIRIT to fill me with HIS mighty truth. He again renewed my strength, my hope, and my peace. HE IS MIGHTY for who else could do it with a few small words? His word is truth, He is the Word, He is the TRUTH!
This is what I read this morning; Matthew 22: 1-14 but it was vs. 11 that jumped out at me. I then had to get my journal and write down what HE was showing me.
Wearing Wedding Clothes? What does that look like?
(My thoughts returned to a lady at the prison this past month that we were able to disciple and how we told her she was now robed in a beautiful wedding gown.)
He, Christ, robes us in HIS righteousness, His purity, His Holiness and it is HIS Sanctification so we are fully robed and ready for the wedding feast and do not have to fear being tossed out into darkness where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth! We no longer are to have a spirit of fear. Romans 8:15For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by Him we cry, “Abba, Father.”
He dresses us up and puts on us a garment of praise, a garment of salvation, and a robe of righteousness (Isaiah 61). We couldn’t go in, robed or dressed, to the banquet without HIS HOLY COVERING of our LORD JESUS CHRIST. It would be impossible for us to find anything that even closely resembled wedding clothes they would look more like filthy rags.
Then I thought of how wonderful it is that we do get the blessing of a personal relationship with HIM. The personal relationship is the fact that HE lives and dwells within us. If something is dwelling within you that is about as “personal” as you can get. My heart beats inside my own body alone. It supports no life to others as even an unborn child is given their very own personal heartbeat within their first few weeks of conception.
NO OTHER GOD does that! No other RELIGION today, or in the past, has ever had a GOD that personally dwelt within them. HE comes and dwells in us and that is what makes it a “personal” relationship”. GOD is in us and is with us and it was HIM that sent HIS HOLY SPIRIT to be in us. He is not apart from us like other religions whose gods, they worship, are on the outside dictating how to act, perform, study, or look etc. He is hidden within our hearts. His truth we hide within our hearts so that we may not sin against thee (Psalm 119:11).
His Holy Spirit fills us, changes us, transforms us, rebuilds us, renews us, and restores us to the perfect intended state of HOLINESS. HE will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.
It is not by my effort, or my desire, or my works (Romans 9:16) but by HIM and HIS mercy alone and HIS HOLY SPIRIT that dwells within me. It is HIS life on the inside of me that changes me. As in my own strength I want to do the right thing but I do what I don’t want to do and what I don’t want to do is what I would always do if it wasn’t for HIM IN ME! (Romans 7).
This is why He looks so intently on the inside, while the entire world and all other gods are looking to the outside. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart ( 1 Sam. 16:7)
He looks at the heart as that is where He makes HIS home and who wants to live in a pit? I thought of how I am wanting to redo the floors in the upcoming home we are going to buy and how I want to repaint and fix the holes in the walls etc. Why? Because I don’t want to live in a pit. But the wonderful thing about this is that in my spiritual life HE is the one who goes in and cleans me all out so HE has a righteous place to live. Did I clean it up for HIM? NO!! HE did it and now all the righteous requirements are fully, fully (not partially but fully) met in HIM (Romans 8:4). Oh, the mighty power of HIS HOLY SPIRIT to clean one up as filthy as me.
This truth is what I am holding onto today. TO GOD BE THE GLORY and PRAISE for the GREAT THINGS HE HAS DONE!!
Rejoicing, leaping and jumping actually, with my LORD and no longer much afraid,
Leave a Reply

